Choices Choices…

Standard

It seems to me that in today’s society religion is no longer a choice, but a way of life affected by every Tom, Dick and Harry, religious or not. I was thumbing through The Evening News, whilst taking a quiet stroll up Lothian Street and was pleasantly surprised to read about a man who is just as dubious as me about The Church judging the suitability of teachers to teach, even in denominational schools. If I were to say my feelings on this tender topic were not monumentally strong, I would be telling a big, fat lie. I found myself getting into quite frenzy when I did a bit of research and began reading the views of others. Correct me if I’m wrong, but surely the choice of who teaches our children should be made on the grounds of ability and not religious faith.

http://edinburghnews.scotsman.com/Register.aspx?ReturnURL=http%3A%2F%2Fedinburghnews.scotsman.com%2Ftopstories%2FBid-to-ban-church-members.6540009.jp

I am well aware that religion plays a huge part in global affairs and everyday life, whether you are religious or not. Of course our children should be, or should I say need to be educated on such matters in school, however, when looked at plainly and simply for what  religion is, it is a choice, a preference that we each as individuals have a right to make. Do you like peanut butter? I do, but hey, I don’t give a damn if you like it or not, you’re having it, and every meal you have from now on will be tainted with the taste of peanuts. Fair? I think not. Metaphorically speaking, I do not have a problem with people who like peanut butter or people who don’t like it, but quite frankly If I wasn’t a peanut person, I wouldn’t want it rammed down my throat on a daily basis.

This leads me on to the relevant question, ‘Well if The Church has a say, why can’t we?’ My answer?  ‘Fantastic question!’ If The Church has a say in who teaches our children, we need a dozen extra seats my friend, we have a queue of Buddhists, Jews, Muslim’s, Scientologists and Satanist’s who all want a say! Where do we draw the line? One critic asked, ‘Should someone who claims to have seen Nessie or fairies get a place too?’ Derogatory it may sound, but the principle remains the same, why should a body of people get a say in our education system when the substance of what they preach is not proven and is merely a choice we as human beings make once we have been educated on ALL religious faiths and angles on this controversial subject.

http://www.eveningtimes.co.uk/news/editor-s-picks/teacher-axed-for-telling-class-suicide-pupils-will-go-to-hell-1.1056280

A critic posted this link to the original article which I found an interesting read also.

I would love to hear everyone else’s views on this piece!

Samantha McLean

8 responses »

  1. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources
    back to your blog? My blog is in the very same area of interest as yours and my visitors would definitely benefit from some of the information you provide here.
    Please let me know if this okay with you. Regards!

  2. My spouse and I stumbled over here from a different website and thought I might as well check things out.
    I like what I see so i am just following you.
    Look forward to looking over your web page repeatedly.

Leave a comment